Sagacious Himself — brevity in circumlocution: never blague — suffering genius

February 24, 2007

archiving the argument against DRM and the folly of selling mp3s

Filed under: category euthanized — Sagacious Himself @ 11:25 pm

Draconian Rights Mangling not only is unamerican, but it’s antisocial

“When customers buy CDs and cassettes, they often share their albums with others. “

No, really? People share? People exchange CDs? WOW. What a novel concept.

Remember: if the gizmo or software YOU are considering buying requires
DRM…. DO NOT BUY IT. When everyone realizes they CONTROL the market,
the marketeers will no longer be able to CONTROL the consumer with
Draconian Rights Mangling.

” the best way to market music to would-be customers” … is NOT to sell MP3s.

“700,000 songs for download at 99 cents each. In contrast, On-Demand
offers access to 650,000 songs per month at a starting price of $7.95
USD per month.”

People only pirate(d) MP3s because they were free. Low quality was
an acceptable trade off for ZERO cost. Low quality is NOT acceptable
for any “low” amount of money.

“Music services are evolving from their complex roots of ripping, burning, and managing”

Ummm not complex. Didn’t people used to tape radio and concerts to
tapes, and copy them for friends? That was about as “complicated”.

“locally into simple on-demand services”

Locally: my computer
on-demand: not on my computer

I prefer the control of having MY stuff on MY hardware where only I can
see it, thanks. I don’t need prying marketing eyes determining what
would amuse me and emailing me “special” offers.

“where you gain legal access to the entire music library for a low fee”

I’m not really gaining anything when I’m paying for low quality
recordings that only work on one computer in my house, now am I? It
certainly sounds like I’d be losing lots and lots of control over MY
listening habits of MY music.

[scenario_1]
With a CD I can play it upstairs, or downstairs, in my car, in my
friends car, at a friends house, on my boat, in an airplane, pretty
much wherever and whenever I please.

[scenario_2]
With this new “amazing” “service” I’ll be FORCED to use it only at one
machine, provided it’s hardware fingerprint doesn’t change, and then
only if it’s internet enabled to prove I’m still “entitled” to listen
to the music I payed for.

So again how is scenario_2 better than scenario_1?

Oh, that’s right, it isn’t

Remember: if the gizmo or software YOU are considering buying requires DRM…. DO NOT BUY IT.

When everyone realizes they CONTROL THE MARKET, the marketeers will no
longer be able to control the consumer with Draconian Rights Mangling.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a civil reply. We strongly recommend you always adblock the interweb. You have no right to be published here. Abuse will be redacted or transmogrified. Please refer to CONTACT page for terms, details, or special considerations such as private comments: himself.wordpress.com/contact/

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

